If you’re ever asked by a police officer to blow into a breathalyzer, remember that Arizona blows away all other 49 states when it comes to being tough on charges for driving under the influence (DUI).
That’s according to WalletHub, a personal finance website, which recently released rankings on the strictest and most lenient states in enforcing DUI laws for 2016.
To shape their rankings, WalletHub poured over 15 separate measurements, including
- Minimal jail time and minimum sentence for first DUI offense (10 days and $750 in Arizona)
- Additional penalties from higher blood alcohol content reading, etc.
Arizona is ranked #1 for DUI criminal penalties.
For comparison, South Dakota – which ranked last – requires no minimum sentence or minimum fine for DUI.
The complete Top 10 rankings for the toughest states on DUIs are:
- West Virginia
What’s The National Average for DUI Fines?
There was a host of other interesting findings in the study from WalletHub.
- The national average fine for a first DUI ($347) is higher than what one would pay for an Uber driver to take you from Washington, DC to New York ($342).
- 92% of states nationwide require those charged with DUI to put in ignition interlock devices in their vehicles.
- Repeat DUI offenders stay in jail nearly three weeks longer than first-time offenders.
If You’re Facing DUI Charges in Arizona, You Need Legal Representation!
There’s too much at stake to risk going it alone against the most aggressive legal system in the land in terms of DUI enforcement. That’s why it’s crucial to leverage the expertise of a skilled legal defense attorney who will fight for your rights.
Call the law offices of Alex Lane in phoenix. The first consultation is always free, so call us at 480-776-5757.